Lee Epstein
Lee Epsteing Ethan A.H. Shepley Distinguished University Professor

Lee Epstein has returned to Washington University in St. Louis, where she is the Ethan A.H. Shepley Distinguished University Professor. During the 2013-14 academic year, she is also serving as a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar, a Guggeheim Fellow, and a Lecturer in Law at the University Chicago.

Professor Epstein is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Academy of Political and Social Science. Previous positions include the Provost Professor of Law & Political Science and Rader Family Trustee Chair in Law at the University of Southern California; the Henry Wade Rogers Professorship, a University-wide chair, at Northwestern University; and the Edward Mallinckrodt Distinguished University Professor of Political Science and Professor of Law at Washington University in St. Louis.

A recipient of 12 grants from the National Science Foundation for her work on law and legal institutions, Epstein has authored or co-authored over 100 articles and essays, as well as 15 books, including The Choices Justices Make (co-authored with Jack Knight), which won the Pritchett Award for the Best Book on Law and Courts and, more recently, the Lasting Contribution Award "for a book or journal article, 10 years or older, that has made a lasting impression on the field of law and courts." The Constitutional Law for a Changing America series (co-authored with Thomas Walker) received the Teaching and Mentoring Award from the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association. The Behavior of Federal Judges, with William M. Landes and Richard A. Posner, was published by Harvard University Press in 2013. Her most recent book, An Introduction to Empirical Legal Research (with Andrew D. Martin), will be out in Fall 2014 (Oxford University Press).

Professor Epstein is a Co-Editor of the Journal of Law, Economics & Organization; chair of the Law School Admission Council’s Grants Subcommittee; Principal Investigator of the National Science Foundation funded project on the U.S. Supreme Court Database; and a member of the editorial/advisory boards of American Politics Research, Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, GreenBag Almanac & Reader, Judicature, Law & Policy, Oxford Handbooks Online, Politics and Governance, and Social Science Quarterly. She is former chair of the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association (APSA) and a past President of the International Society for New Institutional Economics (ISNIE) and the Midwest Political Science Association.